Sustainability made simple

Is Hoisin Sauce Vegan? Facts & A Vegan Recipe

Is hoisin sauce vegan
Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / Einladung_zum_Essen

Ever wondered whether hoisin sauce is vegan? The answer may be surprising! Read on to discover whether hoisin sauce is vegan-friendly, and how you can make your own natural and healthy vegan hoisin sauce at home.

What Is Hoisin Sauce and Is it Vegan?

Hoisin sauce is delicious added to stir-frys and marinades
Hoisin sauce is delicious added to stir-frys and marinades
(Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / Pexels)

Hoisin sauce is a smooth blend of sweet, salty, and spicy. This dark, rich sauce is a traditional Chinese condiment full of flavor, mostly used as a dipping sauce or added to stir-fries and marinades. Its bold flavors and strong aromas make hoisin sauce a must-have condiment for your kitchen. It is made from fermented soybeans and a mixture of sweet and spicy spices. 

The name ‘hoisin’ comes from the Chinese word for “seafood”, which begs the question: is hoisin sauce vegan? The answer is, surprisingly, yes! Hoisin sauce does not contain any seafood ingredients but was named as such because it is traditionally paired with seafood dishes. So worry not vegans, you too can enjoy this delicious Chinese sauce. 

Unfortunately, many staples in the Asian cuisine are animal based. But there’s hope! Find out how to make vegan fish sauce, vegan alternatives to imitation crab, how to find out if sriracha is vegan.

What Is Hoisin Sauce Made Of?

Soybean paste is the main ingredient to hoisin sauce, with added spices for flavor
Soybean paste is the main ingredient to hoisin sauce, with added spices for flavor
(Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / jesspla)

The base ingredients for hoisin sauce are all vegan-friendly. Aside from the main ingredient of soybean paste, other ingredients in hoisin sauce include chili, vinegar, garlic, salt, xanthan gum, artificial flavorings, and sugar. 

Recipe for Making Your Own Vegan Hoisin Sauce

Although hoisin sauce is vegan, store-bought bottles are not necessarily the healthiest. Most commercial hoisin sauces are packed with additives, salt, sugar, and artificial colorings. It is therefore recommended to make your own homemade vegan hoisin sauce. It is much healthier, uses only 100% natural ingredients, and couldn’t be easier


  • 1 cup dates (or raisins)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1-1/4 cup water
  • 1 tbsp. sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp. Barley miso
  • 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper


  1. Place the dates in a bowl and soak them in warm water for 1 hour. 
  2. Place the soaked dates in a blender along with all the other ingredients. Blend until completely combined and smooth. 
  3. Transfer the sauce to a clean glass jar with a sealable lid. Your homemade vegan hoisin sauce can be stored in the fridge for up to a week. 

How to Use Hoisin Sauce

Hoisin sauce is great on veggie sushi.
Hoisin sauce is great on veggie sushi.
(Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / LollemyArtPhotography)

Now that you’ve got your own homemade vegan hoisin sauce, it’s time to put it to good use. 

Read on:

** Links to retailers marked with ** or underlined orange are partially partner links: If you buy here, you actively support, because we will receive a small part of the sales proceeds. More info.

Do you like this post?

Thank you very much for voting!