Sustainability made simple

Are Oreos Vegan? What Vegans Need to Know

are oreos vegan
Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / StockSnap

Oreos are a cupboard staple, beloved by kids and adults alike. But are they vegan-friendly? Here’s which flavors are suitable for people avoiding animal products.

It might be surprising that a cream-filled cookie that goes so well with milk is vegan, but it is! Although Oreos have always been dairy-free, they’ve been vegan since 1997. Before that, the cookie’s delicious cream filling contained lard.

Oreos were inspired by Hydrox cookies — the first cream-filled sandwich cookies. The Hydrox filling didn’t contain any lard and could, therefore, claim to be Kosher. So, Oreo removed lard from its cream filling to also claim to be Kosher and vegan. Keep reading to find out which flavors of Oreo can be eaten by people avoiding animal products.

Vegan Oreo Options

Oreos are vegan and can be enjoyed with a cold glass of plant-based milk.
Oreos are vegan and can be enjoyed with a cold glass of plant-based milk. (Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / 1150199)

Classic Oreos are simple chocolate wafers held together with a sweet layer of “cream” filling. It’s 100 percent vegan. Other vegan Oreos include:

  • Double-Stuff
  • Mega Stuff
  • Golden and Golden Double Stuff
  • Gluten-Free and Gluten-Free Double Stuff
  • Birthday Cake
  • Mint
  • Lemon
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Carrot Cake
  • Caramel Coconut
  • Chocolate Marshmallow

The only flavor of (non-dipped) Oreos that don’t pass vegan muster is Peanut Butter, which contains dairy milk. This makes Oreos the perfect snack to dunk in a cold glass of your favorite plant-based milk.

There is a type of Oreo that is not vegan-friendly — basically, anything in the fudge-covered range. This includes Dark Chocolate Fudge, Fudge Covered Mint and Fudge Covered Chocolate. The fudge topping contains dairy, eggs and gelatine. If you are looking for a healthier option, or want to avoid ingredients like palm oil or sugar (present in all Oreos), try our delicious homemade raw vegan Oreos.

Read more: 

Important Information regarding Health-related Topics.

** Links to retailers marked with ** or underlined orange are partially partner links: If you buy here, you actively support, because we will receive a small part of the sales proceeds. More info.

Do you like this post?

Thank you very much for voting!