Halloween Candy and Brands To Avoid on a Vegan Diet

vegan halloween candy
Foto: CC0 / Unsplash / Sebbi Strauch

With Halloween right around the corner, what candy is safe for people who avoid animal products? Here is a straightforward guide to vegan Halloween candy in 2022.

The classics given out at Halloween may not be vegan. Read on to learn which ones to choose if you're vegan.
The classics given out at Halloween may not be vegan. Read on to learn which ones to choose if you’re vegan. (Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / annekarakash)

If you’re vegan, it can be tough to decipher which Halloween candies are safe for you to eat. And at Halloween, you don’t always have control over what candy is available. Don’t fret! We’ve got you covered with this vegan Halloween candy guide so you or your kids can still enjoy spooky treats.

Vegan Halloween Candy

Fruit based lollipops like Dum Dums and Charms are vegan.
Fruit based lollipops like Dum Dums and Charms are vegan. (Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / lauravalentini)

To save you time, we’ve compiled a list of vegan candies to help you navigate your options.

Luckily, these classic Halloween candies don’t contain any animal by-products:

  • Smarties
  • Air Heads
  • Charms Blow Pop lollipops
  • Fun Dip
  • Dum-Dum lollipops
  • Enjoy Life candies: these are allergen free, so they are vegan, and often nut and casein free.
  • Sour Cry Babies
  • Annie’s brand: Annie’s brand snacks are a great vegan option, with so many to choose from!
  • Dots and Jujufruits
  • Jolly Ranchers – Luckily, Jolly Ranchers are vegan and have many flavors to choose from.
  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Brach’s: these include mints and other gummy snacks, but check the ingredients on items like candy corn.
  • Nerds
  • Laffy Taffy
  • Oreos

These candies are vegan-ish, so make sure to check the ingredients before you buy or eat them:

  • Twizzlers – although these candies overall claim they do not have gelatin or animal products, only specific kinds are considered fully vegan. Again, check the package before purchasing.
  • Swedish Fish – sometimes these candies contain beeswax, so always read the packaging to ensure you’re getting the vegan candy.
  • Skittles – these candies went gelatin free in 2010, but make sure you check the ingredients before buying.

Halloween Candy and Brands To Avoid on a Vegan Diet

Although a Halloween staple, candy corn are not always vegan.
Although a Halloween staple, candy corn are not always vegan. (Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / sambeawesome)

It’s always best to check the ingredients of specific candy if you’re unsure if it’s vegan. Sometimes even if the candy is not made with animal products, you can find sneaky ingredients inside like gelatin (made from animal bones/cartilage), casein (a dairy byproduct), shellac, beeswax and honey.

Avoid these brands of candy if you’re on a vegan diet:

  • Chocolate-based items like Snickers, Reeses, and Milky Way: Milk and butter are used to create the base for this chocolate, so you should avoid these brands. Look for dark chocolates, as they are less likely to be made with milk, or check out these vegan chocolate brands. Justin’s makes a great vegan Reese’s option if you’re looking for chocolate and peanut butter.
  • Gummy bears and lifesavers: These have gelatin, making them a no go for vegans. Try these alternatives instead.
  • Candy corn: Candy corn frequently contains gelatin also, so make sure you read the package.
  • Marshmallow: Anything marshmallow-based likely contains gelatin. Best to avoid it.

If you’re looking to hand out (or eat) homemade vegan candy, try one of our delicious recipes:

Read more:

** Links to retailers marked with ** or underlined orange are partially partner links: If you buy here, you actively support Utopia.org, because we will receive a small part of the sales proceeds. More info.

Do you like this post?

Thank you very much for voting!

Tags: