Sustainability made simple

Is Whey Protein Dairy or Is It Lactose Free?

is whey protein dairy
Foto: CC0 / Pixabay / anasegota

Whey protein has become one of the most popular and talked about protein powders in the fitness industry. We’ll tell you whether whey protein is dairy and if it is lactose-free.

Whey protein is a powdered protein that is popular in the fitness industry. Many people take whey protein to improve their athletic performance and to add more nutrients to their diets. One of the reasons why whey protein has become so popular is because it provides all nine amino acids needed for the body to carry out essential functions. Whey protein commonly comes in powder form and can be mixed wither water or milk to make a protein shake. It can also be added to smoothies or other recipes such as overnight oats. Similar to all proteins, whey helps to increase and maintain muscle mass.

Whey protein is a powdered protein derived from dairy products, meaning it is neither vegan nor lactose-free. Whey is a byproduct of the cheese-making process. When enzymes are added to milk, it curdles to make cheese and produces liquid whey. If you are vegan or have a lactose-free diet, you will want to look for a vegan protein powder.

If you do not eat lactose, you may be able to consume one form of whey protein: whey protein isolate. This protein contains less than one percent lactose, so you may not notice any side effects from drinking it. It is important, however, to stop consuming whey protein if you experience side effects such as bloating and gas.

Read more:

** Links to retailers marked with ** or underlined orange are partially partner links: If you buy here, you actively support, because we will receive a small part of the sales proceeds. More info.

Do you like this post?

Thank you very much for voting!